Best Online Editing Services (for Authors/Writers)

When I first started writing, I needed advice on just about everything. I am a good writer but not a good author. That actually takes work and experience. I had to learn from scratch the differences between Beta Reader & Developmental Editor, Proofreading vs Copyediting, and so forth.

When I had writer’s block and simp[ly didn’t know where I was going from a certain point, I joined several forums to get advice. I did get some good ones but no one had time to actually read what I had written. To make a long story short, I went online to hire some editors. My experience varied widely from different sites.

DISCLAIMER: I am not employed nor have I ever work for any of the companies listed below.

Here are a few of my experiences in working with online editors and online editing service providers, including freelancing platforms.

1. Rank #1: Scribendi
  • I absolutely love this company and their philosophy when it comes to editing and proofing my work. All of their freelancers are hand-vetted by senior staff. Each of their editors has to go through rigorous testing to prove their worth and must have credentials/resume to prove they have the right skills to edit books and articles.

• The ordering process is really simple, all you have to do is place a word count and it gives you know exactly how much to pay. Your name, email and private information are kept strictly confidential by the company. The editor will not know who you are unless you have it listed in your manuscript or article.

• You may think that having an anonymous editor sound strange and many will advise you it is critical to be able to exchange information. I found this process to work even better in my favor. When or if you have a question, you ask via email and typically I get a reply back on the same day. There is no awkwardness of disagreement or unhappy work - the staff will intervene and make it right.